5/5 - (3 votes)

Last year, Snapchat introduced Do Not Disturb, which was well received by some users. It allows you to silence friends without them knowing, and it’s the tool we’ve all wished for certain members of our social groups. So, is Snapchat’s Do Not Disturb a one-person setting or a general setting? If you have annoying friends, how can you make Snapchat more enjoyable to use? Continue reading to find out!

Snapchat, as we know it today, bears little resemblance to the app that debuted all those years ago. It has steadily evolved as a result of user feedback and the company’s own ideas. Even though we don’t have all of the features we want, I believe today’s Snapchat is far superior to that early version.

Do Not Disturb was a long-awaited response to the problem of oversharing or persistent friends. It’s a happy medium between putting up with the noise on Snapchat and unfriending and dealing with the social consequences of unfriending.

Snapchat Do Not Disturb

In response to the original question, Snapchat’s Do Not Disturb feature can be used for individual or group chats. It’s also simple to set up.

  1. Enter a chat in Snapchat.
  2. Select the individual or group you want to silence.
  3. Hold down their name until the popup menu appears.
  4. Select Do Not Disturb.

You can still follow and access the chat as usual, but you will no longer receive notifications from the person or group you silenced. They will not be notified, and it will be business as usual for them.

Do Not Disturb vs. Mute

We already know that Do Not Disturb in Snapchat prevents you from receiving notifications from specific users or groups. What about the Mute function, though? What makes it unique?

Mute differs from DND in that it removes a Story from view instead of suppressing notifications. For example, if a friend is constantly posting lame Stories that you don’t want to read, you can mute them and they’ll be moved to the bottom of your Stories queue.

They will remain in the queue, but they will not open automatically like the others, and you will have to manually select them in order to see them. The user is not notified, and they are unaware that you have muted them, similar to Do Not Disturb. If they check their stats, they might notice that you don’t read their stories very often, but they won’t be aware of the situation otherwise.

To mute someone, do this:

  1. Open your friend list within Snapchat.
  2. Select their profile and then Settings.
  3. Select Mute Story.
  4. Confirm your choice.

You can also set Do Not Disturb this way, as well as from within a chat, as you’ll see.

Both tools allow you to stay friends with the person, contact them, chat with them, swap Snaps, and do all the usual things, but you have a little more control over what you see. These are extremely useful tools for managing social media, and they are, in my opinion, underappreciated.

One thing to keep in mind is that Do Not Disturb and Mute are both sets and forget options. There is no time limit or timer. You’ll have to manually select the person or group and undo the selection if you want to hear from them or see their Stories again.

To avoid conflict, use Do Not Disturb.

Unless you’ve been living in a cave for the past decade, you’re aware that social media has become an integral part of our daily lives and has a significant impact on how we live. For some people, what could easily be dismissed as “just an app” is much more.

There are now scientific and psychological disciplines dedicated to studying the effects of social media on our lives. How we handle rejection or conflict on social media is one area of research. The short answer is almost always no. Even if you’re not afraid of a little conflict in your life, anything we can do to avoid conflict on social media is a good thing. People react differently on social media than they do in person, and someone who wouldn’t blink at a personal or verbal rebuke may react very differently on social media. One of the reasons Snapchat introduced the Do Not Disturb and Mute features was to address this issue. As a result, users can stay in the app and manage their lives without conflict.


Like it? Share with your friends!

0

One Comment

Your email address will not be published.