How can I see when someone was last active on Snapchat?
Snapchat is one of the most popular social media platforms available today to people all over the world. Initially, it was a platform that respected user privacy by deleting messages, but it has evolved into much more. The app includes some privacy features and notifications that let friends know where you are if you’re responding to their messages, and when you were last online.
What is “Seen Just Now?”
In Snapchat, the ‘Seen just now’ notification is a Snap Maps message that shows you where a friend who uses the feature was last seen. This simply means that the other user is online and using Snapchat. Other Bitmoji updates may say things like “12 minutes ago,” indicating that the user was recently active.
This is one of the messages others will see if your presence has been shown on the map feature if you haven’t turned off Snap Maps or set it permanently to Ghost Mode.
If you’ve used Snap Maps before, you’ll know that it will update your location to selected friends or the rest of the world at regular intervals until you close the app or use Ghost Mode. When Snap Maps is updated with a location, the app says, “Seen just now.”
To say Snap Maps was controversial at first would be an understatement. While widely regarded as a useful feature, privacy concerns about the amount of information you could potentially share on Snapchat were not well received. In some circles, it still doesn’t, and some people refuse to use it because of it.
It should be much less of a security risk if you use it wisely and limit who can see your location to friends you actually know. Otherwise, Ghost Mode allows you to choose who sees what and when.
To access Snap Maps, open Snapchat and zoom out on the main or camera screen to see who in your circle has it enabled. At a specific location, their Bitmoji will appear on the map screen. Zoom in on the map to get a better idea of their exact location.
Tap their name on the map and choose to Send or Request Location to say hello. A small Chat or Snap icon should appear alongside those two options. Select this option to greet the person wherever they are. Only if you both follow each other will this work. It won’t work if the people you follow don’t follow you back. For example, unless you’re lucky enough to be followed back, the celebrities or brands you follow won’t appear or be selectable.
Snap Maps and privacy
The fear that everyone would know your location and could do whatever they wanted with it fueled a lot of the controversy surrounding Snap Maps’ initial launch. When people learned about Ghost Mode, or the ability to limit who can see what, the uproar subsided.
My friends continue to refuse to use it, which is fine. I’m happy to share parts of my life with friends, but not all of it. If you’re in the same boat and haven’t yet learned how to use Ghost Mode, here’s how.
- Open Snap Maps in the usual way.
- Select the gear icon to access Settings.
- Select Ghost Mode to toggle it to on.
You can still use Snap Maps, but you won’t be able to share your location. You won’t be able to see where other people are. That strikes me as a reasonable exchange.
If you don’t want to disable the feature entirely, you can choose who can see your location on Snap Maps. You should have seen ‘Who Can See My Location’ in the same window where you accessed Ghost Mode. In Snap Maps, this allows you to control who sees what.
Can Someone See My “Last Seen” Status?
One of the best things about Snapchat, as previously stated, is the privacy features. Your online activity status will be visible to another user who is your friend if you share your location with them.
Set your Settings to Ghost Mode or hide your location from that specific user if you want to hide your online status. Apart from any potential bugs, Snapchat will only show you online when the app is open. If you don’t want to reveal your exact location to certain friends, the only way to keep your online activities private is to avoid using the app.
Snap Maps’ most important privacy facts
- When you’re not in Ghost Mode and using Snapchat, your location is only updated.
- So don’t forget, Snapchat will remind you that Snap Maps is sharing your location on a regular basis.
- The location of mutual friends can only be seen by mutual friends. One-way friends cannot.
- After a certain amount of time, Snapchat deletes your location.
- Your last seen position will remain for up to 8 hours after you close the map before being dropped.
- Sure, Snap Maps can be creepy, but it’s not so bad if you know how to use it and protect your privacy while doing so.