5/5 - (1 vote)

Snapchat new ‘Clear chats’ feature lets you delete that message you immediately regret

Snap added a new feature to its messaging platform on Monday that makes it even more ephemeral.

Clear Chats allows users to delete a message they’ve already sent, whether to a single person or a group of people, regardless of whether the recipient has seen it.

Snapchat new 'Clear chats' feature
Snapchat new ‘Clear chats’ feature

It works on text, stickers (like Bitmoji), audio messages, and photos and videos sent from your Memories section. It does not apply to newly taken photos, videos, or screenshots.

The distinction is simple: an archived post can be deleted if you swiped up and sent it. However, once you’ve opened your camera and taken a picture or video — or simply take a screenshot of someone else’s picture or video — it’s sent. No deleting allowed.

To use Clear Chats, simply hold down the message you want to delete indefinitely and select “Delete” from the pop-up menu. Confirm “Delete,” and your typo, well-intentioned TV spoiler, or facepalm comment will be completely erased from your phone and the phones of the recipients. Only an alert informing the recipient(s) that you’ve deleted a message will remain.

Snapchat already had a feature called Clear Conversation that allowed you to delete an entire thread of messages, but the content remained on your account. Clear Chats removes messages from Snap’s servers entirely, though the company warns that it may not work “if someone has a bad internet connection or is using an older version of Snapchat,” so proceed with caution.

How to Delete Saved Messages

Snapchat already had a feature called Clear Conversation that allowed you to delete an entire thread of messages, but the content remained on your account. Clear Chats removes messages from Snap’s servers entirely, though the company warns that it may not work “if someone has a bad internet connection or is using an older version of Snapchat,” so proceed with caution.

FAQ Frequently Asked Questions

Snapchat can be perplexing, and there’s always something new to learn thanks to constant updates and new features. Here are some more answers to your Snapchat messaging-related questions.

Will it delete the message on their end if I delete a message that someone has already read?

Yes, deleting a message will make it disappear from both users’ accounts. Fortunately, this feature works even if the other user has saved the conversation in their message thread (but not if they’ve screenshotted it).

If I delete my account, will it remove my messages?

Will it delete the message on their end if I delete a message that someone has already read? Yes, deleting a message will make it disappear from both users’ accounts. Fortunately, this feature works even if the other user has saved the conversation in their message thread (but not if they’ve screenshotted it).
If I delete my account, will it remove my messages?

No. Unfortunately, deleting your account will not delete your message or snap. Your profile and personal information will be deleted. Also, once you send someone a snap, it will remain in their inbox until they open it or it expires.

Blocking and Snap Messages

You might be wondering if blocking another user clears your conversation history. If you don’t delete any previous messages before blocking someone, they will still be able to see what you’ve sent. However, you will not receive their messages or notifications.

Final Thoughts

Snapchat is one of the most popular social media platforms, thanks to the transient nature of its content. Now that more and more content can be saved indefinitely, knowing how to delete an unwanted message is critical. Do you have any advice, knowledge, or questions about deleting Snapchat messages? Please leave a comment in the box below!


Like it? Share with your friends!

0

2 Comments

Your email address will not be published.