5/5 - (2 votes)

While not everyone is thrilled with the idea of visible money transfers, there’s no denying that Venmo is expanding and will handle even more transactions in the near future. In 2018, PayPal reported that there were approximately 40 million active Venmo users.

And, while Venmo makes it much easier to send money to friends, it can be a little too transparent at times, especially for millennials. As a result, it’s nice to know that some privacy settings can be changed and that your online presence and payment history aren’t visible to everyone. Unless, of course, you want them to be.

How to Block Users on Venmo

  1. Tap the three lines icon.
  2. Tap “Search People”.
  3. Go to a user’s profile page.
  4. Tap the icon with three circles in the upper right corner.
  5. Tap “Block” (the option is written in red).

Note that you will have to log out and restart the app for the changes to take effect.

Effects of Blocking Someone on Venmo

When you block someone on Venmo, you will no longer be able to find them in the app. They will no longer be visible in your network. A search for their name yields no results as well.

When someone deletes their Venmo account, the same thing happens. Their name no longer appears in search results, and payments can no longer be sent or requested.

It’s also worth noting that a person you’ve blocked cannot search for your account information. They are unable to send or receive payments to or from you.

In addition, no notification is sent to a user indicating that they have been blocked. Some people may believe you’ve simply deleted your account as a result of this.

If you want to check to see if someone has blocked you, you must do so from a different Venmo account. The opposite is also true.

As a result, Venmo users cannot mutually block each other. Unless, of course, both parties initiate an account block prior to logging out.

How to Unblock Users on Venmo

Assume you made a mistake or blocked someone rashly after a heated argument. If that person still has a valid Venmo account, you can always use the unblock feature to make both of your profiles visible to each other and allow transactions between your two accounts.

  1. Tap the three lines icon.
  2. Scroll down and tap “Settings”.
  3. Select “Privacy”.
  4. Tap “Blocked Users”.
  5. Select a user.
  6. Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right corner to bring up a menu.
  7. Tap “Unblock” twice to confirm

Note that you will have to add that person to your friend’s list again.

Additional Privacy Control

Some people block users in order to keep their payment activity hidden from their feeds. Given the amount of control Venmo gives its users over their privacy settings, this is a radical solution. In a few simple steps, you can make all of your transactions private.

  1. Go to “Settings”.
  2. Tap “Privacy”.
  3. Select “Private” from the list of options.
  4. Tap “Save Settings”

Only you and the sender/recipient will be able to see the transaction this way. Of course, you can make everything public and change the privacy settings on individual transactions. You can also change the default privacy settings to private, allowing individual transactions to be seen by everyone or just those in your network.

  1. Bring up a payment screen.
  2. Tap on the privacy settings icon.
  3. Select the option you want from the “Who can see this?” screen.

All three options, “Public,” “Friends,” and “Private,” will still display the payment information to both the sender and the recipient. The only difference is who else will see the transaction in their feeds besides the two.

You may also use your right to conceal previous transactions. Just keep in mind that this action cannot be changed later. When you change the privacy settings for a previous transaction, the changes are permanent.

  1. Go to “Settings”.
  2. Tap “Privacy”.
  3. Go to “Past Transactions”.
  4. Chose the option you want.

You don’t have to do this for payments that have already been made private. You can’t even change the status of previous private payments. As a result, you should always be certain that you want to keep certain aspects of your transaction history private.

Conclusion

The best thing about Venmo is that you are no longer required to use an email address in order to use an online payment service. Users can create accounts with their phone numbers for this mobile payment service. It makes things a little easier, and for the time being, this small platform allows for much faster transfers than its parent service, PayPal.

Having said that, its social media-like quality makes it appealing, albeit perhaps too transparent at times. Before telling everyone who you sent money to, how many times, and how much, you might want to play with the privacy settings. It’s a lot easier than having to block and unblock people one by one.

Read also : Highest Snap Score & Longest Snap Streaks Accounts of 2022


Like it? Share with your friends!

0

One Comment

Your email address will not be published.